Frequently Ask Questions

The answers to many of the commonly asked questions about Waterside Gymnastics Club are provided here. Click on any question to reveal the answer.

Yes, we encourage children to come and do a ‘Come and Try It’ class before officially joining the club. After you have completed a membership form (via the website or at the club) we will contact you to let you know which session(s) we have space for you child within. We will then be able to explain how the ‘Come and try’ it session works.

After you have had a ‘Try-It’ session you will need to become a member of Waterside Gymnastics Club if you wish to continue attending the classes.

To be updated - please check back shortly.

The Annual Club membership fee is £--, you also need to pay a membership fee for British Gymnastics which is £-- for minis and £-- for General Classes.

On joining the club you will be invoiced for Annual Club and BG membership fees together with the session fees for the rest of that term. At the end of each term you will receive an invoice for the session fees for the next term.

The Club year starts in September, and the Club membership fee is reduced for those joining later in the year. The British Gymnastics membership fee is set by BG and may or may not be reduced for those joining later in the year.

Yes! We have a large viewing balcony where parents are welcome to view all session from.

For mini and General classes children should wear a t-shirt and shorts or tracksuit bottoms. Long hair should be tied and up all jewellery removed, children go in bare-foot. Once your child has settled into their session most girls come to their sessions wearing a leotard and boys wear shorts and t-shirts. We sell club leotards and t-shirts which many of our members choose to wear.

Please take the time to let the head coach of your session know that you are planning to leave so we can make the space available to another gymnast.

All staff are qualified to British Gymnastics recognised standards with all lead coaches to a minimum of UKCC Level 2 award in Coaching Gymnastics.

All senior staff are qualified in the following fields:
First Aid
Safe Guarding and Protecting Children
First aid
Judging

It is required by British Gymnastics that all Staff have a Criminal Records Bureaux Check. All the staff at the club are checked on a regular basis and these records are kept up to date.

The Club have a welfare officer who is happy to deal with any concerns that you have. Click here to contact our welfare office Lisa Taylor.

If your concern is regarding a class change, please contact the lead coach for your current session.
If your concern is regarding class content then talk to the lead coach of that class.
If your concern is regarding a Member of Staff you can either contact the director of coaching (davebessant@watersidegymnastics.co.uk) or Lisa Talyor our welfare Officer (lisataylor@watersidegymnastics.co.uk).
If your concern is regarding the development of your child within a squad, contact either their personal coach or the director of coaching (davebessant@watersidegymnastics.co.uk)

All members of the club have an opportunity to participate in the club championships for their section. All club members have the opportunity to participate in the Club’s Annual Gala. If your child is part of a squad there will be opportunities to compete at different levels throughout the year.

If you would like to arrange a meeting to discuss your child then please email the coach directly to find a suitable time or talk to them at the end of a session:

Dave Bessant – davebessant@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Carol Pankhurst - carolpankhurst@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Lucy Jewell - lucyjewell@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Della Downes - delladownes@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Lynn Withers – lynnwithers@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Hayley Andrews – hayleyandrews@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Lee Mellor – leemellor@watersidegymnastics.co.uk
Richard Bartlam – richardbartlam@watersidegymnastics.co.uk

Alternatively Email the office at admin@watersidegymnastics.co.uk Or leave a message on the Club’s answerphone on 023 80843800

Have a question that is not answered above? Please drop us an email.